The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Wall Warts - what are the main issues?
Old 20th October 2013
Gear Nut

Wall Warts - what are the main issues?

I'm not a gigging musician but read a lot of condemnation of wall warts, even to the extent that some will rule out a synth if it uses one.

What are the main problems? Are they more likely to become disconnected? Get lost? Fail?

From a home use perspective, they allow lighter keyboards and, apart from having more stuff on the floor, are not a huge issue for me.
Old 20th October 2013
PES
Lives for gear

Don't know, and don't have a problem with them. The extra space (and number of sockets, if you can't arrange them properly) they use is the only thing that bothers me, but the lighter cables weigh up for it. Less to fail inside the synths too; external PSU's are easy to just replace.
Old 20th October 2013
Lives for gear
I think it's because they are so clunky

Sent from my SGH-T999
Old 20th October 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPhoenix View Post
I think it's because they are so clunky.
Yup...clunkiness is an issue. If you pack a wall wart with the gear, you better be sure that it's wrapped well. Otherwise it will bounce around and the blades will scratch up your gear.

If you pack it separately, there's a chance you'll mix it up with similar ones of a different voltage or polarity. I found the magic smoke preset on one of my MIDI modules that way.

Even if the wart doesn't crowd out other outlets on a strip, the larger profile can be an issue. They're easier to trip over - and more likely to break if you do. Plugging 'em behind a Furman in a rack is a royal pain in the arse.

At home, the larger wall warts are more likely to fall out of an electrical outlet. It's worse when the receptacle's worn or one is of those stupid new tamper-resistant ones.