The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
More power in the vocals..
Old 15th October 2013
Gear Addict

More power in the vocals..

Client of mine asked me to add more power to the vocals after hearing a first take of the mix. Normally I would add s**t load of distortion and layer up with some more effects. This time the song needs to stay soft and the vocal is being performed really softly as well.. How would you fix it
Old 15th October 2013
Lives for gear

I take that as a task for myself to see if I'm right or wrong in the way I'd do it.
Don't take this as a suggestion, as I'm only learning myself.

I'd play around a bit with NI Transient Master to give a bit more attack to the vocals.
Then I'd double the vocal track and do some slight changes to the duplicated track (soft Attack, panning, some EQing, lower volume), and put it further backwards in the mix (more reverb).
Old 15th October 2013
Lives for gear

Maybe very light distortion on the peaks, but try using the vocal as a sidechain for compressing the other tracks and give it a low-ish threshold. Or use an envelope follower to alter the tracks in some other way, eg by ducking reverb/delay...IOW let the vocal seem to push other stuff out of the way.
Old 15th October 2013
Lives for gear

You really need to provide more information and/or a rough mix because the problem depends completely on subjective terms like "power" and "soft".

What does "more power" mean to the client and/or to you? Vocals louder in the mix? Double or triple tracking? A performance that's more intense or in a different style? Do you have any references you can use for what the client wants it to sound like?

Similarly, what do you mean by "soft" for the song? That it can't have distorted elements? That the overall loudness needs to be low? That it's supposed to have a delicate/ethereal atmosphere with only a few musical elements?