The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
i am not sure what midi gear i should be looking for
Old 13th October 2013
Here for the gear

i am not sure what midi gear i should be looking for

Hi guys, first post here. i am not an electronic musician but looking for a midi solution to control my pedalboard and since you guys are experts in Midi thought of bringing up the question here

basically i have one midi controller (has IN & OUT) and i want to use it to send 3 different midi PC with 3 different values to three other devices. From research at this forum, i think i will need a midi interface and a midi patchbay software.

just to be sure my signal chain will be:

Midi controller -> OUT to send PC to Midi Interface (Mac patchbay software)->send out 3 different Midi PC with different values

not sure whether i am on the right path
Old 13th October 2013
I'm not sure what you mean by "midi PC". Do you mean you want to send a midi signal from one controller into three different computers?

You can split the MIDI signal with one of these:

It will basically split the signal into 4 identical signals. So plug your controller into the input of that device, then plug 3 other cables from the THRU ports into your 3 PCs.

Then you can use different MIDI channels to send different signals to each PC. MIDI has 16 channels, think of it as 16 independent signals going through the same wire.

So you could set your 3 PCs to receive on different channels. Finally you'll have to configure your controller to send specific signals to specific channels depending on what you want to accomplish.
Old 13th October 2013
You don't want that - that will lead to midi latency problems. Note the key words "4 identical signals".