The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Just a simple question from someone new to synths
Old 5th December 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Just a simple question from someone new to synths

Hi all, this site seems great.

I'm a classical pianist in background. Recently I've been inducted into a new band and I need a good piece of gear, so I'm looking for advice.

We play psychadelic-style music similar to the Australian band Tame Impala. The link to some of our music is here: Coloured Clocks

In the songs "Cycle" and "Miles", I'm looking for a synth which can easily make that spacey transition on stage. I've been playing on an Arturia laboratory hooked up to a laptop with Ableton Live 2.0 but this is clunky, breaks down and generally a pain in the ass. I'd like a stand-alone synth, analog or not, and would prefer to spend around $1000.

We don't need anything too fancy, just something which sounds good, works consistently and is easy enough to jam with in rehearsal and on stage. So far I was recommended the Roland Juno-Di, which in my opinion doesn't sound great, and I know about the Nord Lead 2x, which is very cool but a bit more than I want to pay, though I might still get it.

What would you recommend I get?
Old 5th December 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years