The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Dave Smith Mopho Question! Electric Guitar
Old 26th February 2012
Gear Addict

Dave Smith Mopho Question!

3 Mopho questions, much appreciated if I could get some answers!

1-Is it possible to control the Mopho with both a midi keyboard, AND another midi controller (say, the APC40) at the same time?
I mean specifically the module version, not the keyboard version :

Mopho Monophonic Analog Synthesizer. Overview.

2-Can I send audio into it? Say, from a digital radio, for example?

3-I'd then want to have a couple of effects after the synth. Probably a delay pedal and chorus. Can this be done?

Please explain aaaaaaallllllllll to a synth newbie here!
Old 26th February 2012
Lives for gear
The answers to 1 and 3 aren't very specific to Mopho.
1. Yes, you can have multiple controllers, but their outputs have to be merged together into a single input for the synth. Some controllers will merge their MIDI input into their MIDI Out or Thru; otherwise you'll need a MIDI merger.

2. The Mopho has an audio input. In the patch you have control over the level of this input. It's mixed with the audio from the two oscillators, their suboscillators, and a noise source. This mix is the input to the filter.

3. Yes, you can put effects in the audio chain after the synth. Mopho has two audio outputs (you can control the pan position of the synth output between them). Each of these is a line level output.
Old 26th February 2012
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rimwolf View Post
The answers to 1 and 3 aren't very specific to Mopho.
1. Yes, you can have multiple controllers, but their outputs have to be merged together into a single input for the synth. Some controllers will merge their MIDI input into their MIDI Out or Thru; otherwise you'll need a MIDI merger.