The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Poly evolver or prohet 08' for electronic music??
Old 1st January 2012
Here for the gear

Poly evolver or prohet 08' for electronic music??

Hi,

Could you advise me which synth to buy to make electronic music? I'm thinking between the poly evolver and the prophet 08. It is to make electro, detroit techno and IDM.
I have little experience in dealing with any so what is the most adsequible for a beginner? I have a microKORG and no more.
I think I prefer the poly evolver but I have not decided yet.
I would greatly appreciate your opinion.

thanks!
Old 1st January 2012
Gear Maniac

The Poly Evolver is a much more powerful synth. IMO I I like the Poly Evolver much better!
Old 1st January 2012
Lives for gear
I had a Polyevolver myself, and sold it recently because i wasn't pleased with it for bass duties. It can do very good bass, but not good enough.
Other than that - it's an amazing synth. You start programming it and you finally find out 3 hours passed :-)

Having said that, the prophet can be very useful for electronic music:

Old 1st January 2012
Lives for gear

Had both, the pro 8 went the polyevolver stayed, lots more under the hood.

LK
Old 1st January 2012
Gear Addict

Yer I had a pro 8 an sold it. Wasn't keen on the pots at all, I think they've changed em now mind
Old 1st January 2012
There is no better or worse. When you say electronic music presumably you mean some sort of sequenced dance music. The original "electronic" dance music was often made on the cheapest gear because those making the music did not have the money for the better sounding instruments. Take for instance the TR x0xs from Roland. Unquestionably they were considered toys in their day. The genre of music that arose from their sound and limitations was simply people being creative with what they had.