The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
The best college in your opinion. Dynamics Plugins
Old 17th September 2011
Gear Head

The best college in your opinion.

Hi

I'm studying Audio Engineering at SAE London I will probably have my diploma in 2 months.

During this course I realised that I dont want to be only rec/mix etc but also program some beats. I think SAE's EMP classes sux (and not only but thats a different story) so I'm was wondering if you can recommend me a college or perhaps tell me if its not worth it.

I was thinking about Point Black London, or Dubspot NYC.

I dont know anything about music theory, but I'm willing to learn some.

So yeah what do you think?
Old 17th September 2011
Well I think Middle Tennessee State University was worth it for me. I also think it wasn't so worth it for other students because they just didn't put in enough effort. Part of the reason I chose the school I did was I wanted the B.S. degree in the event I had to do anything outside of audio.

I got a lot out of the program and knew absolutely nothing going in. Now, 6 years from when I started that program I think I've come a long way.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Gearslutz.com
Old 17th September 2011
NYU has a cool program, the clive davis dept. of recorded music. It's supposed to be halfway between a music school and an audio engineering school; a "producing" school if you will. Not sure about some of the others you mentioned, but unlike dubspot, you leave with a Bachelor's degree, which as jkchuma mentioned is nice to have these days. Warning: it is not cheap...
Old 17th September 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelube View Post
Hi

I'm studying Audio Engineering at SAE London I will probably have my diploma in 2 months.