The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What's the best mic to use as a vocoder modulator?
Old 15th September 2011
Gear Addict

What's the best mic to use as a vocoder modulator?

Hi all,

In my 24 years as a musician, I've had a couple of experiences where hardware vocoders were involved (Korg VC-10, and the Microkorg), but I never had the chance to dabble with them deep enough - therefore I admit that I'm not knowledgeable enough on the subject.

Now that my ITB system is nearing completion, I will be exploring more using VST vocoders, starting off with the TAL-Vocoder to educate myself, with a view to move on to either the Eosis ELS or Klanglabs Vokko. The head-scratcher in all this is, what mic shall I purchase?

From what I gleaned throughout the years, the consensus seems to be that the crappier the mic, the better modulation you get. But I'm trying to get deeper here by asking what qualities does a mic have to possess that would make it the perfect modulator...would you be so kind as to help with my inquiries?

Thanks!
Old 15th September 2011
I've used both condenser mics, and dynamics.
My suggestion is to get a good dynamic mic, crappier is not better.
dynamic mics have less dynamic range, and therefore drive the vocoder better (more even signal), and don't require phantom power, so you can plug it right in. you could compress the signal before routing it into the vocoder.
Beyerdynamic m69, and Sennheiser 441 I'm using with the Doepfer. (depends on which one already set up)
Old 15th September 2011
Gear Addict

Hmmm...the 441 is way out of my pocket's reach. The M69 seems a more viable proposition, even though I think that £175/$277 is a bit steep for a mic that will be used only for one trick...
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reptil View Post