The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Differences between 808 and 606 Hi Hats Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 14th September 2011
Lives for gear
Differences between 808 and 606 Hi Hats

I'm not a big fan of most of the overused sounds on the 808 and I think the prices that they are currently going for are ridiculous. However I do love the hi hats and I still have yet to hear anything in the analog realm that sounds better. The hi hats are the only thing I would use on the 808 and I'm not about to spend over $2000 on a drum machine just to use one sound. From what I have heard it seems as if the 606 has the same exact hi hats at a much cheaper price. Are there any differences in sound quality between the two? I know Massive Attack used the 606 hi hats on the song Angel and it sounds nice, but I have no personal experience with either drum machine.
Old 14th September 2011
Jose Ramón Alvarado Villa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necron 99 View Post
From what I have heard it seems as if the 606 has the same exact hi hats at a much cheaper price.
Won't work. They sound totally different.
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

they are different by 202. which is like, alot.
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

I think 2k is a little high. Plus they sound different.
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

the snare is great and you can eq and process the indi outs. i lust after an 808. they are beautiful to me
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleestack View Post
the snare is great and you can eq and process the indi outs. i lust after an 808. they are beautiful to me
the 808 is my drum machine of choice - it's can fit nearly any mood.
Old 15th September 2011
Gear Nut