The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
General Tips and Tricks for making Electronic Music Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 11th September 2011
Gear Addict

General Tips and Tricks for making Electronic Music

Hi, Im fairly new to this forum and am finding it really useful for helping me in tight spots or expanding my knowledge. Im sure, many of you are the same as me in that you're self taught in most of your production, maybe having the chance to work with someone thats better than you sometimes but more often that not learning how to do some pretty cool things from people that also learning because everyone's approach is different. So, with this in mind, I thought perhaps it would be appropriate to pass on some of the basic little titbits and techniques I use alot in my music. If others did the same Im sure we could all learn something (however small) new.
Cheers
CT

1. Cut the bass below 50hz on most channels barr the kick and sub (sometimes even the kick)

2. If you pan a hat hard left and apply a very short delay (3-7ms or so) panned to the right you can create a much wider stereo image, Automating the delay time slightly can create some interesting effects too.

3. Arps are great for helping to find musical inspiration when you might be lacking. Playing a chord sequence and then putting an arp over it and recording the arps midi output to a different channel while you mess with the timing/pattern etc will gve you alot of source material you can then use as basslines/ leads/ fills etc.

4. Double tracking vocals, panning them left and right (say between 15 & 30 each way) then slightly detuning one of them and moving the start point by a few ms can really help to add presence to a vocal part. Also opens up the doors to alot more experimentation with pitch and harmony without needing backing vox or the overdubs.