The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Question to those of you who have gotten degrees in music tech/audio engineering
Old 11th September 2011
Gear Nut

Question to those of you who have gotten degrees in music tech/audio engineering

What did you plan to do? Where/How did you plan to work?

Thanks for any feedback.
Old 11th September 2011
Lives for gear

I'm doing my degree now. I plan to teach. I don't see any other career options other then that.
Old 11th September 2011
Lives for gear

i'm at the end of my first year in a three year bachelors program....

teaching is certainly a field i also consider a possibility, it seems like it would be one of the obvious first considerations.

i also want to make sound for ipad / iphone apps especially and have buddies who are learning how to make the games so i'm excited about that.

or maybe i will get the chance to work in the sound department at one of the video game studios in town which would be pretty sweet, but gonna be tough to get that position without knowing someone.

then there is always the movies and general recording potential. Buy a bunch of field recording gear, and businesses, media personal, and sometimes just random people will pay good money to get a professional recording. There is a lot more underground low-budget media work going on then i think people realize.

then theres my real dream, which i have to consider a hobby for the safety of my ego...

make a bunch of awesome dance music, throw big ass parties, and profit from all of it while getting to travel around the world. but it's really ALL ABOUT THE MUSIC.