The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Hard time programming enough upper end
Old 8th September 2011
Lives for gear

Hard time programming enough upper end

I am fairly new to producing. I guess I'm in the genre of electro house- progressive house -- I'm not trying to follow the form genre for sounds or progressions exactly, but I look to some music I like in those for sound.. eq..

Felguk, Neelix .. two artists I enjoy.

When I compare the track I'm working on... and tracks previous... to them I find I am missing a lot of sound in the upper areas of the spectrum.

I'm guessing a little more knowledge of eq'ing will help me... but I think that I am not creating the proper upper end sounds in my mix.

Here is an example of what I'm working on..

Any ideas of a more full upper end? Percussion? Different synth/ sfx programming?
Old 8th September 2011
Lives for gear

Rather than type it again, may I direct you to comments I made about 'air' in this recent thread:

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/elect...-talk-air.html

... You might find that info pertinent.

EDIT: Should mention... I haven't even listened to your track I'm afraid- wife is sleeping in the next room!... So this is just stabbing in the dark rather than specific to your mix!

Old 8th September 2011
Lives for gear

I think you need to add some type of distortion to the saw synth/bass. This will add some harmonics.
Old 8th September 2011
Lives for gear

Add an exiter.
Old 8th September 2011
Personally I don't feel this lacks hi's. Usually the opposite is a problem for most people, too much and harsh hi's. Agree about the distortion or exciter on the bass.

Old 8th September 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by msl View Post