The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Hardware Sequencer, Software, MPC? Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 7th September 2011
Lives for gear

Hardware Sequencer, Software, MPC?

I've been using a Yamaha RM1x for the past 5 years to good effect. Now that I'm getting ever-more-in-depth with sequencing, I'm maxing out the internal 110,000 event memory of the unit. I bought some 3.5" floppy disks to back-up songs to, and that's going OK, but apparently there are some internal memory bugs in the RM1x that required periodic Factory Resetting on some units (apparently mine included). This means then having to go in and manually reset my master settings each time.

SO I'm looking for a new solution.

At the same time, I'm getting more and more into detailed sample manipulation. The Zoom ST-224 sampler I've had for about 4 years has served me well, but is now also basically inadequate for my needs.

AND SO I thought "Well those MPC-1000s look pretty slick, especially what with the jjos and everything," but they have 96ppqn to the RM1x's 480, and basically the same amount of MIDI storage.

So I thought, well, maybe I ought to get the MPC to haul heavy sampling duties, and get the king of all hardware sequencers, the Roland mc-80 with a massive internal hard drive for unlimited MIDI storage.

And then I started thinking, man...that's a lot of new hardware.

I'm looking for some guidance and experience on this.

Do people have good experience with the MPCs if they've had a history of 16-step sequencers? Any experience withthe mc80? Should I just suck it up and joing the 21st century and put together a DAW for all this stuff? (I hate doing music on a computer, but maybe the hardware dream is dead).
Old 7th September 2011
Lives for gear