The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What am I missing in my basic set up? Advice NEEDED!
Old 5th September 2011
Gear Addict

What am I missing in my basic set up? Advice NEEDED!

Hi -

Well, I'm a guitarist who is dabbling bit with synths, etc, for onstage....
I don't have much, equipment-wise, but would like to use what I already have, and add to it.
Okay, so I've the following - if there's any suggestions on what I could do to improve, rather than replace what I have here, that would be really useful :

Korg Electribe EA1
Arturia The Player (midi keyboard controller)
Firewire soundcard
Tons of various guitar effects pedals
A couple of midi foot pedal controllers

I'd like to be using the midi keyboard to control the EA1, and don't want to get a computer involved here, as I've plenty other things going on onstage), so what can I add to give me a more varied set up?

I'm not much of a synth player, so am really looking to do ambienty, textured stuff, some simple synth basslines too. Cheap, simple, and ideally only knobs/sliders, rather than slow complicated drop down menus! DO I need more in terms of controllers, or synths, or...?
Old 5th September 2011
Lives for gear

You say you don't want to get a computer involved, but if i were you that's the first thing i would do. It will improve your workflow dramatically once you understand how to set it up properly for your performance layout. Just my 2cents
Old 5th September 2011
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrok Rolles View Post
You say you don't want to get a computer involved, but if i were you that's the first thing i would do. It will improve your workflow dramatically once you understand how to set it up properly for your performance layout. Just my 2cents