The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
very un-minty JX-3P - should i do it? Synthesizers (Others) (HW)
Old 31st August 2011
very un-minty JX-3P - should i do it?

Hi Gearslutz,

i have the opportunity to buy an JX-3P from a local guy. The synth looks very damaged, four keys are broken, it seems to have scratchy pots and would need some serious re-working. The guy wants 100€ for it, but i probably can talk him down.

I'm a total noob at modding synths, but am interested in learning, i probably will start with a monotron mod to see if I'm able, and if i am, i would like to put the Kiwi JX-3P upgrade in the synth. I'm not really interseted in fixing the keys (for now) since I would be playing and editing it via my Novation SL controller.

So do you guys think it's worth it? Anyone has done the Kiwi Upgrade and would you think an amateur like me could do something like that?

Thanks!
Old 31st August 2011
Gear Guru

I acquired two of these in reasonable condition for about 150 euros each. They're not rare; while it tingles the instant gratification sense I'd skip it (unless you know you can fix it yourself) and wait for a good one to come by.
Old 31st August 2011
Thanks, i think you just saved me from an an idiotic impulse buy. heh
Although i've never seen a JX-3P going for less than 300€.
Old 31st August 2011
Gear Guru

Depends a bit on where you live, though - and if the programmer is included. I've seen one very optimistic person on a Dutch forum offer a JX3P + programmer for 600 euros.
Old 31st August 2011
Lives for gear

I got my jx3p off craigslist for 120 CAD...it also had like four nonworking keys. Worn out contacts and in kind of rough shape.
Old 1st September 2011
Lives for gear