The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Seriously Considering a MiniMoog Model D Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 11th June 2011
Lives for gear

Seriously Considering a MiniMoog Model D

In a way, this is a Model D vs Voyager thread, but please bear with me.

1. After hearing several audio clips of the Model D, Voyager and Minimax, I am thoroughly convinced that the Model is much fatter than the Voyager. I've got a used Voyager on order and it should be here early next week.

A licensing check came sooner than expected and now I have the opportunity to get a Model D. Before, the cost made it out of my reach. getting it would be a stretch, though, but I can do it.

I am not a synthesis guy; I am a total noob. I do plan to learn, though. How steep is the learning curve on a Model D? I understand the Voyager does come with presets to at least help me get started.

2. I absolutely must have MIDI. If I got the Model D, I would obviously need a MIDI mod, like right away. Are they expensive? Reliable? I would want MIDI in and MIDI out.

I understand that the Voyager has more oscillator options, etc. Again, I'm not a synth guy. Maybe I don't need all of that.

is there any way to get the Voyager to sound as fat as the Model D? with additional outboard gear or something? I think there is a Moog product that is compatible with the Voyager.

the other thing I am considering is keeping the Voyager and getting a used Prophet 8. This will go with my Virus Polar and Korg MS 2000.

Thanks.

edit: anybody have a MiniMoog they want to sell?
Old 11th June 2011
Lives for gear

I am confused. If you are a noob then why do you have a virus ti and looking at a minimoog? If I was in your possition then I would not go with the model d. Stick to the new synths. You dont want to deal with cv, well not yet. Anyways i got off track. Get the voyager.
Old 11th June 2011
Nev