The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Fixing a buzzing transformer in a JX-3P
Old 14th March 2011
Gear Nut

Fixing a buzzing transformer in a JX-3P

I've recently picked up a JX-3P for a great price on ebay, but the PSU/transformer is buzzing like a fridge! I can only just about tolerate the sound of it for around 30-45 mins before i have to turn it off.

I've had a little search around and saw a few other threads regarding similar issues, and so far I've read about making sure that the transformer is secure and potentially stopping the buzz with some rubber grommets.

Would anyone be able to offer any advice on how to go about identifying the cause of the buzz and break down the area's of the transformer i should be looking at? I have some experience fixing data sliders, knobs, keys and the like, but am not familiar with power supply's at all. Keen to get stuck in though!

Would really apprciate any input.

Cheers guys,
Old 14th March 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by polymono View Post
I've recently picked up a JX-3P for a great price on ebay, but the PSU/transformer is buzzing like a fridge! I can only just about tolerate the sound of it for around 30-45 mins before i have to turn it off.

I've had a little search around and saw a few other threads regarding similar issues, and so far I've read about making sure that the transformer is secure and potentially stopping the buzz with some rubber grommets.

Would anyone be able to offer any advice on how to go about identifying the cause of the buzz and break down the area's of the transformer i should be looking at? I have some experience fixing data sliders, knobs, keys and the like, but am not familiar with power supply's at all. Keen to get stuck in though!

Would really apprciate any input.

Cheers guys,
PS Audio - Humbuster III : More Info
Old 15th March 2011
Lives for gear

probably bad capacitors/rectifiers....