The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Atari Teenage Riot Live Set-up Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 5th January 2011
Gear interested

Atari Teenage Riot Live Set-up

I'm wondering if anyone has an idea on how the digital hardcore band Atari Teenage Riot performs live. I know on stage they use a Akai mpc 2000xl, some kind of DAT recorder, an Atari 2040st for sequencing, Roland sh-101, Roland tr-909 and a mixer... but how do they use all of this to play live? It seems that it would as simple as pressing play on one their tracks and messing with the effects or something while it's playing but then why do they have the tr-909 drum machine on stage, is that machine triggered by the sequencer playing a song?

Any tips or speculations would be much appreciated. I'm new to live set-ups and any kind of electronic instruments like synths, drum machines, samplers, etc. I want to start a music project with a similar set-up so I'm looking for some help and insight.
Old 5th January 2011
Lives for gear

Just search Alec Empire and you're pretty much into the thick of it. Here's a really interesting from the trash audio blog, and is moderately current.

Workspace and Environment: Alec Empire | Trash_Audio

I saw him in a vid, with all these noise makers, sherman and the like, but it sounds like he's getting more into modular, but tours still with the mpc2000 as his main sequencer, which says a lot about that unit.
Old 5th January 2011
Gear Maniac

Whatever is available.

US tour: Vosotk, MPC1K (Kidtronik), Jomox Xbase w/ T-Resonator, old Atari sequencer, DAT, few other gadgets, Electrix MOFX, and rage.
Old 5th January 2011
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by mildheadwound View Post