The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Hello All Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 1st January 2011
Here for the gear

Hello All

I'm new to the forum and to music production (I've been learning guitar and piano for a few years) and I'm looking for a little bit of help/clarification specific to my questions.

This will probably be riddled with n00bnezz but hopefully only people willing to help will respond.

1. I recently purchased a new Macbook Pro running OSX and am looking for a user-friendly DAW to get started with. I'm interested in creating Dubstep and Tech/Electro House.

2. For beginning hardware I was thinking something like an Akai Mpk 25 or 49, is there something that would be better to begin on for what I want to do?

3. Is there a reliable and cost efficient place to get samples? And is there a way to know what's worth getting?

I looked around this subforum for any beginners rules and didn't see any so I'm sorry if this post violates any "ask before looking" rules. Hopefully I don't get responses telling me to Google it, because I have; and I'm still not getting the answers I want.

Cheers!
Old 1st January 2011
Gear Addict

1. Garage Band may be userfriendly to start with, but you may want something better but more challenging like Ableton Live

2. Not really knowing what you want to do, isn't really going to help answer this question. If you just need a midi controller hooked up to your mac, then yes, they're probably fine. If you want something better, try researching Novation, M-Audio & some others and just choose one you're willing to spend the money on.

3. If you need dubstep/electro samples, try the following:
Prime Loops | Wav Samples, Rex2 Loops, Reason Refills, Apple Loops, Mpc Samples, Acid Loops and Tutorials!
Loopmasters Pro Sample Cds, Download Samples, Royalty Free Sounds, Sample Libraries and Boutique