The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
easiest DAW for multi track midi sequencing? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

easiest DAW for multi track midi sequencing?

I am basically new to DAW's as a whole. I've messed around a little with FL studio and found the step sequencer and loading samples was easy but i couldn't really get the hang multi track midi sequencing. I'm looking for something that i can have multiple midi tracks with easily visable and editable piano rolls. I want to send them out to my multitimbral synth so i can edit and listen to all the parts at once and learn about mixing levels and composing as a whole. I'm told Cakewalk Sonar is a nice and easy entry level DAW but i really need some guidance before i buy.

I've gotton some good programming experiance and my goal now is to mess around with some layers and beats and see what happens. Thanks for any input guys.
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

cubase is really intuitive and easy to use in general. it'd take you 5 minutes to figure it out.
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Hi there Estin,

I use Logic Pro. I don't actually use it for sequencing midi parts to a synth. I do use it to record and playback midi cc data. (both in and out) I think its pretty easy to use. I only started using it at the beginning of this year. After a 5 year break. My perspective may be a little skewed tho as I have 10+ years experience with synths and midi.

It seems to me to be a very comprehensive program. Plus you get some plugins with it like ES2, Ultrabeat and ESX24 and some other goodies too. The manual is 1000+ pages but its pretty user friendly and there is a great Logic Pro Help :: Logic Pro Forums with lots of tips and tricks. It seems the posters are pretty helpful there too.