The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Senheiser HD 650 for Electronic music? Studio Headphones
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear

Senheiser HD 650 for Electronic music?

Hello, I have been using a pair of Sony MRD-7509 for the past 4 years.
I work a lot at night wearing headphones and when Im in the studio I use Genelec 8040 monitors.
I got to know and trust my Genelecs, but I don feel the same way about my Sony headphones.
lot of thing I do , even selecting sounds are mislead choices on the headphones because when I take things to the studio they sound very different and not for good.
so Im trying to upgrade my headphones with something better that can come close to the "Genelec" sound I have in the studio.
anyone using the Senheiser HD 650 wiht Electronic Dance Music?
opinions?
Thank you
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear
i don't have space for monitors so i use HD650 all the time. i'm very happy with them and my mixes translate well to loud speakers.
Old 30th December 2010
yeah I use them - they are good. Its arguable you can look at the hd600 also which are comparable but a bit cheaper...some like hd600 more...
Old 30th December 2010
Gear Head

I also have 8040s, but I use the HD650s late at night and like them a lot, very comfortable and open, and I agree with what the above posters have said
Old 30th December 2010
Lives for gear

I also read about the AKG 701 being better in some cases.
Its hard to rely on reviews and all that cause we all listen to different styles of music, thats why I specified on opinions from people who do listen to techno, house style of music.
Old 30th December 2010
Lives for gear

I have them. I find them dark, which imo affects the clarity/detail of the highs. I just got them so i'm still adjusting, but that's my issue with them. Apparently the 600's are a tad brighter.
Old 30th December 2010