The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help someone completely new to electronic music production. Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 26th December 2010
Here for the gear

Help someone completely new to electronic music production.

Hey everyone, this is my first post and I apologize for the length and healthy amount of n00b content you'll be forced to take in. I'd be greatly appreciative of any help that you could send my way.

I'm a guitar player of 10 years, completely self taught and for the entire time I've been totally fascinated by the art and science that goes behind making music from completely electronic platforms. It has always been something I've been wanting to dive into and now that I am slowly beginning to build my studio (and my business) I think it'll be the perfect time to take the plunge.

I'm somewhat familiar with the way things work. My band performs live with backing tracks, littered with strings, synths, bass drops, and all the sorts of ear candy listeners go crazy for these days. It's a tight production we adhere to with a pretty intricate in-ear set up while we all run individual click tracks; but I want to know and learn HOW it was created. As someone who only understands music as coming from the instruments I actually play I continue to find myself totally BAFFLED by what electronic artists do.

lol if you aren't already slapping your foreheads, shielding your brains from n00b radiation then feel free to read on (: