The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Sequencer for MS-20? Modular Synthesizers
Old 22nd December 2010
Lives for gear

Sequencer for MS-20?

I am thinking about adding a sequencer to my MS-20, and I have a specific function for it in mind.

I would like the sequence to advance manually, with each note I play, rather than at predetermined steps such as 1/8th or 1/16th notes. Also, I would like it to use hz/oct, as thats what the MS-20 uses; I would rather not have to convert the signal, trying to keep it simple.

I am not experienced with step sequencers so maybe this manual note advancement is a standard feature? I usually see them running in a seies of 1/4 1/8th or 16th note steps on a clock but that is not what I want.

So what are my options out there, that do hz/oct?

I think the SQ-10 does this but It is vintage and I would rather buy something newer if possible.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 22nd December 2010
Gear Addict

tough. maybe something high-end like the sequentix cirklon could do it but something tells me that's not the direction you are looking to go. voltage is voltage though, and there are tricks to get the MS-20 to respond to 1v/octave.

but you'd probably be best with a midi-something and midi to hz/v converter
Old 22nd December 2010
Gear Addict

Future Retro Mobius has HZ/V Outputs, but it is out of production. I don't know if the newer The Orb Sequencer is capable of sending HZ/V. The Mobius is a really cool sequencer!
Old 23rd December 2010
Lives for gear

Thanks. So I guess I'll have to consider v/oct and MIDI sequencers as well given the limited options.

Is this feature I mention about manual advancement of steps rather than timed advancement a common mode on sequencers?

sequentix cirklon looks really nice with the 909 style interface but more than i want to spend.