The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Moog SP VS Moog LP VS Nord Lead 2x Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 20th December 2010
Lives for gear

Moog SP VS Moog LP VS Nord Lead 2x

Hey Everybody,
My sluttiness has returned and I want to tryout a new synth.

My 3 choices are a Nord Rack 2x,Moog Slim phatty and Moog Little phatty.

I am also considering a Nord Wave,but is much more expensive tho. I am open to other synths also.

I had a Nord rack 2x not to long ago and it was the first and only synth that I have ever liked and loved so far. The preset sounds werent the best but man was the interface so easy to use and make and tweak the sounds. I have always been lost when it came to hardware synths but I really felt at home with the nord rack 2x. It really has its own character and sounds great in a mix even without effects.

I have never used or played with any moog before so I really need your opinions and thoughts on the Moog SP and LP for a beginner.
They are both around the same price.

Everytime I hear moogs I hear the same Damn old progressive rocks Noises and solo leads. I am definitely not looking for a noise maker or bass machine. I am mainly going to use my new synth for Pop and Dance tracks.

I want something with a nice full cutting edge sound,fun,not to hard to use and has alot of presets with space to store more. I want cool pads,synths,thick and full synth basses and leads.I also want something where I can make any sound I want to without getting a headache.

Sorry if I am asking to much.
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Guru

Pad sounds aren't going to work for monophonic synths unless you feel like multitracking.

Go with your trusted choice first - the Nord - then, when you've saved up enough again, check out the SP.
Old 20th December 2010
get a Virus

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddash View Post
Hey Everybody,