The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
SSL mixing for Electronic Music
Old 18th December 2010
Lives for gear

So I'm a pro mixing and mastering engineer with an SSL desk. Based in Berlin, techno-paradise on earth.
While I'm coming from a heavy electronic music background and also mastering a lot of electronic music, mixing such music analogue on the SSL was a novelty for me. I don't know of any producers working in the traditional way (mixing with a mixing engineer in a mixing studio).
Until the last days.
I was trying what it would be like together with a rather well known Berlin-based producer.
He basically prepared the mix ITB as always and then gave me all the bounced tracks. We then mixed those in PTHD->ApogeeDA16X->SSL AWS900. On the main bus I used SSL bus comp -> Tubetech CL2a -> MassivePassive. For FX mainly TC6000 + Soundtoys.
But he also printed his own FX tracks.

It came out really nice. I have to say the sound of the modern SSL consoles (9K, Duality, AWS) is really perfectly suited for elecronic music. Clean, punchy, wide and deep.
Also funny that you can turn an 808 kick almost into a 909 kick with the SSL channel comp.

While I know that for most people it's maybe out of reach financially, it is something we want to do regularly now.
For me it's really fun and something 'new' to work on, for him it's nice to have a mixing engineer bringing another perspective, mastering grade acoustics and monitoring, plus nice tools to the table.

Well, just wanted to share my enthusiasm!
Old 18th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Cool . What is the exact SSL you are mixing on? And price?
Old 18th December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusicProducer View Post
Cool . What is the exact SSL you are mixing on? And price?
SSL AWS900.
You can find the price via google.
Old 18th December 2010
Gear Addict