The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Does Audacity + Presonus suck? (just for recording DJ and Hardware made songs) Audio Interfaces
Old 16th December 2010
Lives for gear

Does Audacity + Presonus suck? (just for recording DJ and Hardware made songs)

I am not a DAW head, but i have been using Audacity for the past 10 years to just record simple DJ sets of mine. Firstly, using an Emu PCI 0404 on my older PC. Now currently, I use a MBP (no interface yet). I am also new, very new to production and have a bit of hardware and I am in the beginning processes of learning, testing, and making test songs. Basically MPC 60, 16ch mackie, a couple analog synths and drum machines and cheap old effects, etc.. And, I have been just recording my "test songs" (nothing serious) with Audacity lately.

My question: Is audacity and a decent interface "good enough" (or in other words: NOT super sh!tty) to just record my songs?

I am planning to pick up a used Presonus Firebox or FireStudio Mobile for my interface and just using Audacity (my decision is pretty set on the Presonus over the others, like Edirol, M-Audio, E-Mu, etc., etc.)...Unless this is a bad idea, and if it is suggested for me to use a better real DAW (like cubase, logic, protools, etc.)... I was also considering a little MBox 2 Mini and using it's protools that it comes with...but I think the Presonus will be just fine for my needs.

Any suggestions? I know there are a bunch of different DAW's out there. I am not really going to be using the DAW for editing, sequencing, plug ins or instruments or anything really...Just strictly recording and THAT'S IT.
Old 16th December 2010
Gear Nut