The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Advice on electronic pop and hip hop music... Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 2nd March 2010
Gear Nut

Advice on electronic pop and hip hop music...

for the past 10 years or so, ive dedicated myself to learning the basic art of recording and mixing. i studied (both in and out of the classroom and/or studio) everything i could. i learned a seemingly endless array of subject matter. from corrective/creative eq to phase to masking. from mic placement technique to compression tricks... i feel like ive devoted myself to becoming a truly balanced engineer.

but lately ive decided to take on yet another task, i want to learn to make really good beats/electronic music. in the past ive been a "rock guy". but operating my own studio has brought me enough opportunity that i believe this is a necessary step for me.

so now i got a couple questions for you all:

what software would you guys recommend i do electronic sequencing in?
currently i run off a pc and already have cubase and reason. im happy to buy another program if necessary, but the key to the software im looking for is a speedy workflow. im not against using reason, but thus far it feels like no matter how much i learn it, i dont feel like i can "have my way with it" like i do cubase. it just seems hard to stay organized within the software i guess... i dont really like using rewire either, it works ok but i dont love it. i feel like running both programs side by side is awekward.

should i just get a bunch of refills or are there decent electronic sample libraries out there? if so, which ones do u recommend? im looking for elec, drum sounds as well as cool pop synths.

eventually, the plan is to make music ranging from postal service to brittany spears/ lady gaga to metro station to hip hop binstrumentals.