The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How do you sync drum machines and synthesizers without midi or a sequencer? Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 6th January 2010
Gear Addict

How do you sync drum machines and synthesizers without midi or a sequencer?

I have some drum machines- an Alesis SR16, Korg PSS-50 Super Section, Korg DDD-1, Electro Harmonix DRM-15 Digital Rhythm Matrix, and drum machines on Casiotone 501 and MT-205 keyboards. One of the hardest things I have encountered since I started playing music is getting the drum machines to play in time with the arpeggiators on my synthesizers. I have a Korg R3 and a Roland Juno-6. It is not about getting the drum machines to trigger the arpeggiators but to get the drum machines and arpeggiators to play in time with each other. I can get it close. But they tend to drift apart. Is it a matter of sitting there tweaking them until they eventually line up? Or is there a better way to do it?
Old 6th January 2010
Lives for gear

In short, no. At least not with the gear you have. For them to sync up, they need to be able to "talk" to each other to keep in time. MIDI allows devices to communicate so that they can stay in time. Generally one will send MIDI data to a synth which would sync up to the incoming MIDI time code.

Some synths that have arpeggiators can sync to the MIDI time code and others do not.

I understand your problem looking at the gear that you are using. For performance, there aren't any really good solutions other than get it as close as you can.

If you are recording, you can record each instrument on it's own track and then stretch or squish parts so that they are of equal length and that may help keep them in sync.
Old 6th January 2010
Lives for gear