The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Ableton MIDI sending clock in double time. Help!
Old 11th July 2009
Gear Head

Ableton MIDI sending clock in double time. Help!

Bonjour all wise gear masters,

I'm trying to run ableton as my master with my electribe along side as the slave (the electribe playing its own pattern). However, when I start the clips in ableton, the electribe starts playing in double time... for every bar that plays in ableton 2 bars are played on the electribe. the sync is there though, as far as tightness goes. I'm running the MIDI through an AMT8. Any suggestions? I'm new to ableton and feel like this is just a MIDI clock setting I have to tweak somewhere. I have this problem with both my mac and pc, but with the pc the MIDI clock seems to be a little more out of wack... I'm wondering if its somehow related to the Unitor drivers (mac doesn't need any drivers for the AMT8).
Old 12th July 2009
Lives for gear

Hi,

Well, first be sure you know what tempo and time signature Ableton is working at. There is a global tempo setting in the upper left corner. The master track can automate the song tempo, and clips can override the tempo in various ways. If you have warping turned off and no MIDI inside Ableton (unwarped audio only) you won't hear anything happening as you change the tempo. Make sure that the time signature is what you think it should be too (just along the top of the arrangement window, near the locator track).

The only other thing I can think of is that somehow you are sending the clock information twice and it's being merged on its way to the slave, somehow? I've never seen such a thing so I don't know if that's even possible, just a thought...

-synthoid
Old 13th July 2009
Gear Maniac

Ableton and MIDI...There are better couples on telly solving crimes and whatnot...
Old 14th July 2009
Lives for gear

same problem here, and same setup.. is an amt problem?

but with logic is ok
Old 14th July 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by vyedmic View Post