The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Which EMU Sampler And Other Qs? Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 30th August 2007
Lives for gear

Which EMU Sampler And Or Akai Sampler?

So I am thinking of getting an EMU sampler. I have little knowledge of these but I understand the filters and the grit they add to the sound loaded is worth it. I have now personal heard the effect on sounds at a friend's house and LOVED IT.

I am planning on using it for drums mostly to get a more lo-fi-punchy sound.

So I have lots of questions and need any advice you will throw at me.

My initial Qs:

1. Should I get one with a SCSI drive off ebay? I am planning on going back and forth between the computer and the EMU a lot and is a SCSI usuable for this or is it its own weird format?

2. Should I go with a CD since I could easilly load sounds from my computer to a CD and than load them into the EMU?

I basically just want to put my drum librarys into a sampler and have the sampler synced via midi to my computer. When I hit play in Pro Tools. I want the EMU to start playing.

I use a G5 dual 2.0 with OSX and assume there aren't any softwares for interfacing and if so what is the easiest way to move files from computer to EMU and vice versa?

*****I edited this post to include the Akai S5000 and S6000 because I understand they can have a USB option added and interface with a computer well.

How does the sound quality and filtering compare between the EMU high samplers and the Akai high end samplers?

Thanks for the help slizzos!
Old 30th August 2007
Rab
KMR Audio