The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Recommended gear for sound design/ambient
Old 4 days ago
Recommended gear for sound design/ambient

Hi all,
I'm a hobbyist musician and a computer programmer. Making music in my free time is a hobby.

I usually write computer programs in Haskell to generate SuperCollider programs (and I write SuperCollider at times); and I am very interested in sound design in particular. I really like music with deep, evolving pads, arps, breakbeats, and in general things that are somewhat dark but yet rich in harmonic content. Good sound design is a great hobby.

Apart from that, I'm also a Linux user, and I'm now setting things up for audio production at home. I already own the nifty Korg Minilogue XD; and I love what that little synth can do.

Recently I started thinking of investing in yet more gear, and something that can really enhance my workflow: which currently is:
- write some sounds in SuperCollider or Csound (rarely)
- Sample them; and compose them with other sounds to experiment; and in the process start coming up with tracks.
- Write programs to compose tracks together
- Experiment on the minilogue; route the audio to my computer in case I'd like to sample something and play with it.