The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Where to start (synth, sample, drum machine, etc.)?
Old 1 day ago
Here for the gear

Hi,

I am an amateur musician and I already play guitar, bass and drum. However, I do like making electronic music even if it's not the core of my practice.

I used to make music with a midi controler and a big bunch of VSTI. I got bored messing with too much stuff and I would like to have a simpler setup, where I can quickly sit and make music after work. A friend of mine has a lot of analog gear which I really had fun playing with but I don't know where to start.

I would like to be able to :
-Make drumbeats
-Play synth (bass and keys)
-Mess around with some sounds and loops

All in all, I want to make complete tracks, play them live without busting my bank account.

Which kind of gear do I need? Would I need to buy an individual drum machine, synth and sampler or I can get a quality all in one machine?

Thank you for your help!
Old 1 day ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by yannnn View Post
Would I need to buy an individual drum machine, synth and sampler or I can get a quality all in one machine?
A used Fantom-G does all you want and more and sell for a fraction of what they were new. Built-in 24-track digital recorder and 128-track MIDI sequencer. Easy as pie to use.
Old 1 day ago
Lives for gear

The question to ask yourself is do you really want a drum machine if you are already a drummer? I think programming in fills would be torture when you could play them 10x faster.