The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Software Synths VS. Digital Hardware Synths.
Old 3 weeks ago

I'm planning to buy a polysynth in the future and before making a decision or making a post asking for recommendations I would like to gather information to clear my mind of doubts.

I'm not a live performer, I make music mainly at my home studio so I would like to know what are the advantages of having a DIGITAL hardware synthesizer over a software one and viceversa (especially in terms of sound). Logic tells me that they would sound similar because they are digital, but I don't know, never tried a digital hardware synth before, I'm a novice when it comes to hardware synthesizers.

Thanks.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by TinoFiumara View Post
I'm planning to buy a polysynth in the future and before making a decision or making a post asking for recommendations I would like to gather information to clear my mind of doubts.

I'm not a live performer, I make music mainly at my home studio so I would like to know what are the advantages of having a DIGITAL hardware synthesizer over a software one and viceversa (especially in terms of sound). Logic tells me that they would sound similar because they are digital, but I don't know, never tried a digital hardware synth before, I'm a novice when it comes to hardware synthesizers.

Thanks.
my 5 cents on this topic:
The main disadvantage usually is that with increasing polyphony software synths can be very cpu intensive, so a digital hw synth saves you CPU resources. The sound differences are indeed a minor thing in this case.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

The biggest advantage of hardware, digital or otherwise, is the hands on user interface and the ability to use it without a computer. Also, some softsynths require a very powerful computer to run many voices at a time without max’ing the CPU.
Old 3 weeks ago
R7P
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_soulcatcher View Post
my 5 cents on this topic: