The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Finding the new key of a pitched sample in E
Old 6 days ago
Here for the gear

Finding the new key of a pitched sample in E

Hi ! first of all i am a total music noob, but i am trying to learn !

I use fl studio FOR house,chill music. Pitch from a sample can move -1200 - +1200.

I know that 100 means 1 note. / 12 notes = 1 octave, so + 1200 in pitch = 1 octave higher.
(IF IM WRONG DONT BE AFRAID TO TELL ME LOL)

I Have a sample from splice in E. And i pitched it +400. so 4 notes higher the key of the sample should be Gminor ?

I play the fruity piano at the same time of the sample the make sure the key is right. EVEN when the sample is pitched + 400, pressing E on the piano sounds good ! but pressing Gminor sounds bad.

why ? if my sample key should not be anymore. ?

Thnaks ! (keep in mind im just starting to learn ! thanks haha, and is you have any other nice info about keys,pitching, sample, etc you<re welcome !
Old 6 days ago
Lives for gear
100 cents = 1 semitone.

+4 or +400 cents = 4 semitones will take your sample to G# / Ab, not 'G', 'G' is +3 up from 'E'.

Also, you said the sample is 'E' but 'E' what, 'E' as in that's the note of the sound? Or is it a musical passage within the key of 'E' ( which would mean E Major )

So what is the sample? Is it a single sound like a held Piano note or something a bit more musical? This may be relevant to what you wish to do
Old 6 days ago
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinc2097 View Post
I Have a sample from splice in E. And i pitched it +400. so 4 notes higher the key of the sample should be Gminor ?
What does FL Studio say about the root key?

If I play a C on a sampler but the sample actually has the pitch of an E, then I have to transpose 4 semitones down to get a pitch of C on the key of C.

Quote:
why ? if my sample key should not be anymore. ?
Generally you have to tell a sampler that your sample is in a certain key.