The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Am I nuts to trade in my Kronos for the Fantom?
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Am I nuts to trade in my Kronos for the Fantom?

Hello All,

Seeking some guidance: I am considering trading in my Korg Kronos 88 for the Roland Fantom f-8. Am I nuts?

My background is that I am a pianist foremost. I did have a rack of synths in the 80s ( dx7 and a Korg dw8000) that I played in a band. Even back then I pretty much just used the existing programs.

With the Kronos, I have used it primarily to compose and play on my own at home, however I never learned how to use daw, just used the Kronos sequencer. So, my strength is in playing and my weakness is in the technological side. I wish there was some type of class I could take in how to use daw and how to learn all about sound synthesis such as lfos, filters etc (but that’s another subject entirely),

I love the Kronos’ karma application, the combis, as well as the action and the sounds available (it has some amazing piano, organ and electric piano sounds especially).

What appeals to me about the fantom is it’s ease of use (although it will be a new learning curve for me). Also, in general a new keyboard will give me some new “creative juice”.

I know that the Kronos is pretty much a legend among workstations. So am I nuts to consider trading it for a fantom? Really tough decision here.

Just a side note, I went to my local music store where I purchased my Kronos and other previous keyboards. The keyboard guy there is excellent and usually will give me a 20 minute demo. He told me with Christmas coming and the store being crazy he never got around yet to learning the fantom, so he couldn’t give me a demo. I played around a bit but not enough to make a decision.

Thanks everyone!
Old 1 week ago