The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What to do with a synth (noob alert)
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

What to do with a synth (noob alert)

Hi all
I'm probably the biggest noob ever to have posted here, so here goes

I'd like to get into synths, but I have 0 musical background, so even when I'm watching begginer videos, every other word is something that I have to spend forever googling and trying to understand. The idea is to have fun, maybe in the future when I've mastered it a little bit to play ambient/techno for friends in my bedroom, no big ambitions. I'm a student so my budget is fairly limited, second-hand stuff is the way to go for me. I'd like to know the answers to these questions:

1. Do I need active speakers for the synth - or rather, what would I have to get to go along with a passive set to make it work?
2. What other gear do I need, what kind of cables to connect the synth to the speakers?
3. Is that the most basic setup possible to create sound out of a synth: a synthesizer, a set of speakers, and cables to connect them? (btw, I dont want to do it with earphones)

Thanks for any answer!
Old 1 week ago
Save us all the trouble and post your max budget. From there we can perhaps better guide you.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

I suggest you forget about getting gear and stuff for now, and start with a basic all-in tool like the free GarageBand if you have a Mac, or the same app on an iPad. All you need to do then is simply plug your device exactly the same way you already do to listen to music, plug it in your amp, headphones or whatever you're doing already.

Garageband is pretty powerful, yet easy to use. It's got plenty of good sounding synths, with limited controls so that you wouldn't be paralyzed by too many options and spend forever googling on what they mean.. It's got also a basic sequencer to record what you're doing, and simple but good sounding effects to spice up your sounds for mixing.