The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help narrowing down first groovebox?
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

Help narrowing down first groovebox?

Edited and bumped.

Here's my situation: I'm a hobbyist with a pretty minimal setup right now: a Roland Juno DS61, Isla Kordbot, a couple of Roland boutiques, and an old Korg Kaossilator (the original little yellow box). I want something that can handle samples of varying lengths, preferably with some mangling/modification capabilities (long clips, loops, one-shots, and multisamples), sequencing, all the usual crap, with a reasonably intuitive and hands-on workflow. My budget isn’t huge, but I also know if I want something decent, I’ll get more mileage by waiting a bit longer and spending a bit extra instead of going with a Circuit or the like.

Before everybody does the usual thing and suggests I just use Ableton and a bunch of soft synths: No.

I don’t want a DAW, and I don’t really care if the thing I’m using has a DAW-like workflow. I write for a living (words, not music), and when I'm not doing that, I'm usually working with photography. That means I spend hours at a time every day in front of a computer, so I want something that gets me away from that. Besides, the times I’ve tried DAWs, it’s never quite clicked; for whatever reason, stuff that’s more tactile is easier for me to understand (besides being more fun — again, nothing against anyone who gels better with a mouse and screen, but that ain’t me, at least with music).

Anyways. I’m looking at four different boxes at the moment: