The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Drum Maschine for Ambient Music?
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear
Drum Maschine for Ambient Music?

Hi there!

I ask myself did I need a Drum Maschine for my Ambient music? If so, which one I should buy?

First, I never used a drum Maschine before!
In fact, I’m not in Drums and I have no experience to arrange rhythms. I’m not interested in EDM music.

But I think it would be a good idea to spice up my electronic ambient music with some nice and decent percussions.

The question is should I buy a decent Drum Maschine like a DSI Tempest or Maschinedrum or will an ipad app and a BeatStep Pro do the job for me? Most important, I need an easy and intuitive way to create rhythms. That’s why I think to buy a dedicated Drum Maschine.

I used to play some Hardware Synthesizer (Pro2, Prophet 12, Rev2 and a Blofeld) and I avoid to start my Ableton Computer for Drums.

I already use an iPad, mainly for FX and recordings. To buy some Drum apps would be a lot of cheaper than a Tempest but if a Hardware Drum Maschine will help me better than I don’t care for the money.

Please give me some advice, very appreciate it!

Thanks a lot for your recommendations!
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Elektron RYTM would make it possible to do complete ambient tracks just by itself using its analog voices as well as the samples. Elektron’s sequencer can drastically alter parameters on a single track per step meaning just one track can provide a lot of variety.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

I think software can do everything you need. It’s a question of whether or not that works for you.

In the realm of hardware for ambient, I might look past a drum machine per se and look into a sampler. It can be more versatile. One that stands out to me is Elektron Digitakt. If you watch a few Digitakt tutorial videos, you can see that it is not a crazy hard piece to get into and work with (if you’ve worked with other gear).