The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Microbrute as midi controller and guitar synth
Old 1 week ago
Gear Nut

Microbrute as midi controller and guitar synth

Hello. I'm primarily a guitarist, so I was looking for an inexpensive and versatile midi controller for adding virtual instruments to my recordings. I've got recommendations in favor of Arturia Minilab Mk2, but I've seen Youtube videos of Arturia Microbrute and I found it a very interesting device since it has analog inputs for inserting an external audio source like a guitar or a microphone, allowing to apply Microbrute filters to that. It's like having a keyboard and a guitar pedal at the same time.

However, I'm not sure about how competent it is for controlling virtual instruments. Will I be able to use its knobs with virtual instruments? And the pitch slider? Even the keyboard, as a midi controller, will it be polyphonic?

If it can control virtual instruments and also be a creative synth tool standalone or with a guitar, then it would be my first choice. However, if it barely controls midi or it's tricky to configure with Logic Pro, maybe I'd prefer Minilab. I know their prices are a lot different, but my budget can only get one of them, and my main purpose is adding keyboard tones to my recordings.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

You won't be able to use its knobs or sliders, they don't send MIDI.

If you want an analog mono synth that can also act as a basic MIDI controller you need a digitally controlled one. The Novation Bass Station 2 and Korg monologue are current and not too expensive examples. They can also process external signals like the microbrute does.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToyBox View Post
You won't be able to use its knobs or sliders, they don't send MIDI.