The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Anyone else find current pop vocals fatiguing?
Old 19th July 2019
Here for the gear

Anyone else find current pop vocals fatiguing?

I think it's the obsession with vocal compression, but I find most pop vocals today literally fatiguing to listen to. It's so harsh and up-front with zero variance in volume.
I'm no engineer, but up until the 2000s, vocals seemed to be placed more 'behind' the other instruments and had some room to breathe. Now it's like someone screaming right in your ear with every new pop song.

Maybe it's just me?
Old 19th July 2019
Gear Addict

It's not just you, Prizm.
Old 19th July 2019
Lives for gear

No it's not just you and sometimes I like it sometimes i don't.
I hear pop in the stores mostly.
Old 19th July 2019
Lives for gear

hate it, imagine dragons does it so much for me, i'll be in a great mood but just get enraged when i hear that guys voice
Old 19th July 2019
Lives for gear

A lot of mix engineers have lost their
hearing from constantly mixing too loud,
and boosting EVERYTHING, lows and
highs, adding saturation..its ridiculous.
Chris Lord-Alge is looked up to by all
these mixers but in truth, that is all he
does..boost everything, add tons of “sizzle”.
It’s messed up, I don’t like his mixes and
cant listen to them for long, because yes
they are fatiguing.

Where do most people listen to music? On their
PHONE..the worst device to listen to. Second
most common listening environment..the
car, where you are always fighting about
90db of road noise. So everyone wants their
track to “cut through”.

Sadly, I see no going back to the days
of great engineers with good hearing mixing
records. Personally, I just refuse to
mix according to this current noisy/boosted:
clipped “norm”. If people complain that
their track doesnt have “sizzle”, I tell them
turn up the volume on your phone or your
car stereo.
Old 19th July 2019
Lives for gear