The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Korg Wavestation : one trick pony? use cases anyone?
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Korg Wavestation : one trick pony? use cases anyone?

Hey guys! I am a long time hobbyist player and sound designer.

I have always been fascinated by the Wavestation. I own and can fully operate the VST plugin no problem.

My main use at this point is for secondary sound FX and perc sequences inside a project. It works absolutely wonders for those lofi Art of Noise / TV / Industrial type of sounds.

It also sounds really nice as a KB when I put my head into it but it seems that most of the oompf comes from the wavesequences (which are tedious to build) and layering.

For basic layering, my Kawai K4R sample set does sound a bit better (even though they are less quality) for my style (experimental, ambient, dark industrial soundtrack)when just layering and noodling.

It seems that the basic character of samples in the WS are not quite as compelling as other alternatives. BUT the sheer quantity and variety of samples (entire VS series as well) does make up for it.

Even so, one would think the M1 has better samples for simple layering.

Anyways, what is the typical use for this one at this point? Are there any artists using it today? Can anyone point to classi examples of the WS in use? My only reference was Chris Snow which used it extensively on XFiles (everyone loves Xfiles right?)

Anyhow, I am starting to view the WS as an evolved version of the PPG wave, and using this angle it does help me in coming up with interesting combinations but sometimes not easy to fit anywhere.

Thoughts?
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Nut

Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Thanks mate I actually know this song pretty well!

Was this 100% WS (aside voices)?

My impression is that the WS is pretty good overall as long as you keep it inside tight boundaries (i.e. don't blend it too much with other synths.)