The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Another Theory Thread
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Another Theory Thread

Hey y'all, I've read a lot of threads here and I've seen some books recommended but a lot of answers I've seen in old threads are somewhat cryptic/gatekeepery/unhelpful as it pertains to the style of music I'd like to explore so I'm going to ask anyway. Please bear with my ignorance and also the fact I've been drinking.

I've been making music in one form or another for like ten years but I've never learned any theory, mostly just sampled stuff and played with loops and whatever. The past few years I've gotten more interested in electro/techno and although the music sounds simple, I'm having difficulty. Playing by ear and going with happy accidents is frustrating me in this style and I suppose its time I learn some theory.

Even though I've been recording and puttzing around for a decade I'm practically a complete beginner, 0 ear training and I know nothing of chords/scales/anything. My primary talent is ignorance, I guess. lol.

Anyway, sorry to be longwinded, but here is my question: what is a good resource to learn the basics of notes, scales, chords, and learning which combinations of those things work well together? Is there a book that will help me, without going into way more depth than is necessary? I could invest in a 88 key if necessary, but if i could work with just my keystep that would be ideal. I'm just sick of being trapped in 1 or 2 loops with no idea where to go next, or even what notes to play if I wanted to recreate/revise a pattern.

And when I say electro/techno, I mean Underground Resistance, James & Gerald projects, Paranoid London etc. I ain't over here tryin to be the next Skrillex or anything, I just want to make some groovy tunes.

Alright. Thank you. And sorry.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Quote: