The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Poly synth setup Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Poly synth setup

Hey, I'm a classical pianist and recently began moving into electronic music.

Im very much inspired by Nils Frahm.

Currently my setup is a Yamaha P115 digital piano, an Octatrack and a Novation Monostation.
I use the octatrack as a sampler, looper, drum machine and effects unit. Monostation for bass lead sounds.

I go between down tempo techno to ambient music and then to classical.

I would like to ditch the monosynth, because I feel quite limited by it. It doesn't really fit into the music I want to make and I bought it not really knowing what I was doing. I feel a polysynth is a better fit for my music.

I'm considering buying a Prophet 12, I would like to get the desktop module to save on space, and wondering if it's possible to control it with my Yamaha P115 which has USB To Host.

Also how does the P12 integrate with an Octatrack, has anyone tried this?

Are there any other synth recommendations that could be a better fit?

Also I'm not sure if this is an additional constraint, but I also need to control the octatrack with a midi peddle for hands free looping. Any suggestions regarding this would be helpful, as it seems there aren't many options available for this.

Thanks!
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict
For $150 you can get an iConnectivity mio4.

This little wonder lets you integrate both USB and DIN MIDI devices. And you can also connect your computers and mobile devices as well. It's even powered over USB.

As you expand your studio, it will become an essential hub. You start small with your setup, and don't have to worry in the future if your device will integrate since it handles all kinds of MIDI connections.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Guru