The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
4 MIDI OUT support on MPC LIVE !!
Old 12th February 2019
Here for the gear
4 MIDI OUT support on MPC LIVE !!

Hi.

Like all of you here, I tried to connect a MIDI interface to the USB Host port of the MPC LIVE, only to find out that the additional MIDI OUT ports are not supported. Only PORTs A and B are visible, C & D indicating always "None".

While exploring the site MPC Live Internals , I understood that all the interface cards on the MPC Live/X went through USB, and lucky for me, the author had the good idea to provide a USB dump ( with an "lsub" command) right after the boot.
https://niklasnisbeth.gitlab.io/mpc-...cmds/lsusb.txt

The part that interests me most is the following:

Code:
idVendor 0x09e8 
idProduct 0x003b 
iProduct 2 MPC Live Controller
As an IT engineer, I quite recently developed a 3 I/O USB MIDI interface, and it allows to modify easily the VendorID and ProductID as well as the "Product String", identifying a USB device on a host system.
GitHub - TheKikGen/USBMidiKliK4x4: USBMIDIKliK4x4 - 4 in/out and 3 IN/3OUT USB MIDI interface for STM32F1x series board

So I modified the parameters of my MIDI interface, to make it to be seen as an internal AKAI controller.

Code:
-===========================================- 
CURRENT SETTINGS 
--------------------------------------------- 
Magic number: MDK7-1.181219.1306 
Next BootMode: 0 
=> Vendor Id: 9E8 
=> Product Id: 3B 
=> Product string : MPC Live Controller
After plugging in the reconfigured MIDI interface, and rebooting the MPC LIVE, I had the joy of seeing that 4 MIDI ports were now visible A, B, corresponding to the 2 internal MIDI ports, and C, D, corresponding to MIDI OUT 1 and 2 of my interface !! It works !!