The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Volca (sample) firmware hack? Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 26th September 2018
Here for the gear

Volca (sample) firmware hack?

Not sure where to post this.

I have a volca sample and beats.

I am really interested in getting into the firmware.

I understand it's transmitted via the audio jack and so is much like the (very) old tape-based systems we used back in days of Atari and Commodore.

What I would love to be able to do is get into the firmware and be able to hack around in low-level stuff.

I also understand this will not be simple but I have some development experience.

I just need a few pointers if possible.

Has anyone been down there?

Anyone?
Old 26th September 2018
Lives for gear

Did you ever try taking a Sinclair spectrum game and turning that back into compilable z80 ?
That’s also audio .. or maybe the audio from a pocket operator. ?

I think you need the dev environment used , libraries , compilers , dev board.
I know some consoles and synths have been ‘hacked’ , it takes a lot of effort , and it’s a volca sample , not sure how far that device is worth ‘hacking’ , easier to get a better sampler.

It took many years for people to hack the nes , create a development platform , libraries , their own cartridges without infringing any rights .
And considering the wealth of documentation for commodore / Atari , that would still be very difficult .
Old 26th September 2018
Here for the gear

well if you had looked into it rather than just given me a crappy answer you might have found that there is a volca sample SDK. Exactly what I was looking for. Maybe I should have waited before posting - but all I was after was something helpful rather than dismissive.

Thanks anyway.
Old 26th September 2018
Lives for gear