The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Prophet 08 considerations Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 3 days ago
Gear Head

Prophet 08 considerations

I am selling my Roland FA-08 Workstation, and a guy on craigslist offered a trade for a Prophet 08 in nice condition. I have never owned an analog poly before, so I have been looking up reviews. Most of which are very mixed.

Just wondering if any owners/previous owners can comment on how well the Prophet stands these days. Do you think it will hold its value in the future? Sound quality (especially bass)?? How heavy is it, would you gig with it?

Also, I am somewhat new to synthesis (well, more like very out of practice), would you say the Prophet is pretty user-friendly as far as re-learning synthesis goes?

thanks!
Old 3 days ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auditor View Post
I am selling my Roland FA-08 Workstation, and a guy on craigslist offered a trade for a Prophet 08 in nice condition. I have never owned an analog poly before, so I have been looking up reviews. Most of which are very mixed.

Just wondering if any owners/previous owners can comment on how well the Prophet stands these days. Do you think it will hold its value in the future? Sound quality (especially bass)?? How heavy is it, would you gig with it?

Also, I am somewhat new to synthesis (well, more like very out of practice), would you say the Prophet is pretty user-friendly as far as re-learning synthesis goes?

thanks!
I’d not do that deal. One quick look at second hand value of those pieces of gear, and thats not a good deal for you. I’d trade an FA-08 for a Rev2, THAT would be a fair trade.