The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Budget stage piano/master with a good feel Digital & Stage Pianos
Old 12th July 2018
Here for the gear

Budget stage piano/master with a good feel

Hi all,
I am a newbie on the forum, this is my first post ever. I hope i'm in the right section. Also, apologies for my bad English (I'm from Italy ).

Here's my question:

I owned a Korg Triton Extreme 88 for many years, and although it's an old machine i still love it! However, i finally found the budget to upgrade my setup and i am going to buy a 61-keys Korg Kronos 2.

Having the Kronos, the Triton Extreme's sounds will become obsolete, so i was thinking about selling it and replacing it with a more stripped-down (and lighter!!!!) 88-keys board.

What i'm looking for is a keybed with a good "piano" feel (i never really liked the "heavy" keys of the Triton Extreme). Ideally, the keyboard should also have a decent piano sound, so that when i just want to practice my (very bad) piano technique i could use it standalone without having to turn on the Kronos as well. However, if that's not possible, even a mute 88-keys master controller would do the job. I don't need any other particular feature in terms of controls, etc.

Now the difficult part: since most of my budget went into the Kronos, i would like to do this upgrade at very low cost. My Triton is in perfect conditions, so i'm hoping to sell it for about $1000.

Assuming i can do that, what do you think i could buy for about $1000-$1500 that could answer my needs? A used model in good conditions would be fine as well.

Buying a 88-keys Kronos is not an option. The worst part of my Triton days was carrying it around when going to rehearsals. Now i'm looking for a 61 + 88 split setup, to carry less weight except for some gigs when i'll bring both.