The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Help me choose my next analog vst
Old 25th January 2018
Here for the gear

Help me choose my next analog vst

Hello Gearslutz friends,
I’m a drummer with a humble home studio, (apogee quartet, fast iMac, decent drum mics) and discovering the world of analog synth emulators.
I would like to eventually record original material on drums and two midi keyboard players on analog vsts.
I love the sounds of Return to Forever, Joe Zawinul, Hancock’s Sextant, and Synths of Rush from Moving pictures and their earlier albums.
I’ve bought one vst, Gforce oddity 2 and I love it. Logic’s alchemy and retro synth was nice but didn’t sound very analog to me.
My question to you more experienced ones is what should my next synth be after oddity?? I’m overwhelmed with options.
I liked the sound of op-x pro ii. But now I’m reading about Legend and Repro 5... What is your recommendation?
Old 25th January 2018
Lives for gear

Everyone seems to like Monark, Legend, and Repro, but I think if you can spend a few more bucks,
you might want to spring for one of the many analog modules or keyboards available now.
A lot of them are monophonic though.
Old 25th January 2018
Lives for gear

u-he zebra
u-he diva
u-he repro
Old 25th January 2018
Lives for gear

OB-Xd is awesome, and it's 100% FREE. No strings attached.

--> LINK

Old 25th January 2018
Here for the gear

[QUOTE=WozNYC;13095432]OB-Xd is awesome, and it's 100% FREE. No strings attached.

--> LINK

Thanks!! But how does this sound compared to ob- x pro ii?
Old 25th January 2018
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by felis View Post
Everyone seems to like Monark, Legend, and Repro, but I think if you can spend a few more bucks,
you might want to spring for one of the many analog modules or keyboards available now.
A lot of them are monophonic though.