The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Does the Octatrack really sound so flat?
Old 14th January 2018
Lives for gear

Does the Octatrack really sound so flat?

Man, I've been studying this machine for a few months now off and on, but a couple of weeks ago I said "F it, I'm just goung to get one". So I've been watching tons of videos here recently to get excited and purchase the new MK2. However, after watching @ a hundred videos of this machine one thing I noticed is that EVERY video I've heard sounds... not so great.

From young kids just starting out to guys with a massive room full of gear, the audio quality always sounds flat and pretty dead in these videos. It's not YouTube compression because other demos of gear sound fine and what I'm used to hearing. And there's NO way all those guys were just simply bad engineers.

I've read folks who LOVED the Octatrack, considered it one of the most amazing machines they've ever used, but sold it because of how it sounds.

What's going on here?
Old 14th January 2018
Gear Addict

Elektron gear sounds like poop. You're not crazy.
Old 14th January 2018
Lives for gear

Exactly the reason I sold mine..
Old 14th January 2018
Gear Maniac
yes, I found that listening to demos it is not a good sampler, the sound has no punch at all. ...but of course you can do stuff with it....
Old 14th January 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by drxcm View Post
Exactly the reason I sold mine..
Me too.

However: I think the sound quality thing is a bit overstated. Using it to do crazy things to some audio in a track in the presence of other instruments never bothered me in the least. It was when I built entire tracks in it that a certain character started to emerge that I was not pleased with. Very similar to using an expensive pre or eq - use it on one track and it is hard to notice, but use it on all the tracks and .... cumulative.