The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Creepy Dark Hardware Reverb? Reverb/Delay Processors (HW)
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Creepy Dark Hardware Reverb?

Looking for reverb for vintage horror/sci-fi sountrack inspired stuff. Particularly Zombi/Steve Moore/Majeure inspired stuff (anyone know what they use?).

Just got a pcm 70, and it sounds great, I totally get why people say it 'melds with the sound.' But comparing it a/b with Valhalla plugs, tiled room sounds better on the pcm, but concert hall a/b comparing with Valhalla Room den pcm hall preset, with a little tweaking, I can't tell the diff. Maybe I don't know what to listen for cause I'm a hardware reverb newb, but if plugs get that close, so much more flexible and reliable.

The Lexicon 200 from demos sounds lusher, darker, and deeper. Does that make sense?

I already have a spring reverb, Furman RV-1, not overly impressed, really short, mono, seems more a special effect. What about a better spring, like Micmix XL-305?

Others I hear good things about are Klark Teknik DN780, Oto BAM (I hear it's a little less lush than the pcm 70, but I love the BIM), Meris Reverb Pedal (seems a bit like too clean hifi trying to be dark), Dynacord DRS-78/DRP-16/20 (I've heard they're a bit lo-fi for my tastes), Ursa Major Stargate (can't find any audio demos!).

I'm fine with plugins, love my Valhalla stuff, but people I know with real recording experience tell me 'hardware is a whole diff level'.

Then again, some of the new stuff I like that's horror inspired is creepy with everything BUT the reverb. Demos I've heard of Lexicon 300 and 92 sound pretty amazing, and likely beyond most plugs, perhaps that makes sense, creepy sounds into classy reverb?